I decided I needed to make some more badges and pins for a stamp show I’m going to in 2 weeks time but couldn’t think WHAT to make badges with!

I happened upon some old 7″ vinyl records in a local junk shop for only 10p each and wondered if I could use them to make pins with?

So I decided theres only one way to find out! And thats TRY IT AND SEE!

So I did and this is what I came up with:

The Vinyl bellies are very easy to make and I had a lot of fun with them!

I’ve since been told be various people that in the past they have used old 38″ records to make bowls and vases by placing the whole record over a bowl and then either standing both in a bowl of very hot water OR placing in the oven….apparently the record melts and takes on the shape of the bowl and was used as an unusual shaped container…

Anyway you are probably wondering how I created these embellishments and pins! Read on for more information!

Preparing The Vinyl:

There are 2 ways to break the vinyl records down into embellishment sized pieces. One is to snap the records with your hands, they are quite flexible, into small abstract shapes.

Another is to use strong sharp scissors to cut them into little pieces.

How To Create:

If you look at the url above you will see I have created different looks with the vinyl records. So I will walk you through each and explain how you do it:

Stamping On Vinyl:

The bellies in the scan which are plain black with silver lettering on them are actually stamped bellies. For these I used Platinum Planet Brilliance Inkpad and this is how I created them:

1. Place your piece of vinyl onto a sheet of teflon (or non stick baking parchment)

2. Blast the vinyl piece with heat gun until it curls, turn it over and blast other side. At this point the vinyl resembles a piece of floppy licorice!

3. Quickly stamp into the hot vinyl piece using a pre inked rubber stamp. Set aside to cool.

Once the belly has cooled, you will notice that the stamped impression is almost like an intaglio effect.

You will notice in the scan that I have attached charms to 2 of the bellies, while the vinyl piece was still hot, I pierced it using a darning needle. Once the belly had cooled down, the hole I pierced turned solid and enabled me to thread a gimp ring and a charm through it.

Embossing On Vinyl:

1. Place your piece of vinyl onto a sheet of teflon (or non stick baking parchment)

2. Place the vinyl onto Blast vinyl piece with heat gun until curls, turn over and blast other side, the vinyl piece will flatten slightly.

3. Next sprinkle on little bits of embossing powders OR glitters. Reheat to melt. Add more ep or glitter if required.

4. Once you are happy with how it looks, dip the hot vinyl belly into clear embossing powder and reheat to seal. Set aside to cool

To finish off the pins.embellishments I edged them using a gold krylon pen.

One of the bellies in the scan was hi lighted using a copper krylon pen to age it.

I hope you have as much fun creating these embellishments as I did!

