I was sent a roll of metal tape recently by a good friend of mine (thanks Twigs!). Id been after some for ages ever since I saw it in use on Tim Holtz’s Altered Journey Dvd but hadnt been able to find it. Im reliably informed you can purchase it in the UK in B&Q D.I.Y Stores (look next to the carpet tapes).

So WHAT is this tape? Basically put – Its foil on a roll!

It looks and acts just like the soft embossing metal craft sheets you can buy. Except that the tape is sticky and only approx 2 inches wide which makes it a lot easier to work with!

The scans on this page really do not do these cards and justice; because of their shiny metal surface it was hard to get a good image of them.

To start with I stamped the foil using a Black Stazon inkpad because these inkpads are perfect for stamping on many different surfaces.

Next on one of the cards I decided to 3d emboss the image;
I did this by placing the foil onto a mouse mat first, then using an embossing ball tool I outlined the stamped design to create areas of interest within the design.

Once stamped and/or embossed I was left with the question of ‘What do I add colour with?’ I dont have any of the Ranger Alcohol Inks (yet) so I couldnt use those…so I had to improvise!

I wanted to add a transparent colour so that the metal foil would still be visible through the colour – the only way I could think of to do that was to use inks! Now I dont know if you have ever used inks on foil? It just wont stick! The ink ‘beads up’ and wipes off and never dries so I needed something to ‘bind’ the inks and act as a sealer…

One thing that immediately came to mind was Glossy Accents by Ranger – this is a Glass like medium for creating raised areas in your stamped art on a multitude of different surfaces. So I decided to experiment and have a go with this!

I added approx 2 drops of ink to a drop of glossy accents on a mixing palette, using a paint brush I binded and mixed the two together to a thick glue like consistency.

If you dont have any Glossy Accents you could improvise using Diamond Glaze or Dimensional Magic or any similar Glass Glazing Medium.

Once I had mixed the ink and the glossy accents together I painted the solution directly to the foil and allowed it to dry for a couple of hours.

Once dry the foil looked kinda like a metallic glass painting which I thought looked cool!

One thing I noticed was that if I painted the solution onto the foil more thickly – once it had dried it would dry to a raised coloured glass area. For example the green leaves in the scans are actually raised as I applied a second layer to accent them.

You can create thinner and more transparent colours by adding less Glossy Accents and more ink when you are making your solution – also by adding MORE Glossy Accents you create a thicker ink to paint with! Experiment with your ratios!

What I really like about this mix is how it seeps into the embossed areas of the design and enhances them even more!

Have a go and see what you can come up with and dont forget to share your creations with us!

Supplies Used For Painting On Foil

  • Metal D.I.Y Tape
  • Black Stazon Inkpad
  • Embossing Ball Tool
  • Mouse Mat
  • Paint Brush
  • Glossy Accents (Ranger – available from Innovative Stamp Creations)
  • Artists Inks (Winstor and Newton or similar)
  • Card Making Supplies Used In Card Samples

  • Shrink Plastic Leaf Embellishments
  • Safety Pin and Alphabet Beads For Embellishing
  • Card Blanks
  • Scissors
  • Class A Peels Silver Peel Off Stickers – letter tiles, borders, brads, leaf and corners.
  • Glossy Accents for affixing safety pin and leaf embellishment
  • Rubber Stamp Used By Era Graphics

