For this background I used Canvas Paper – which is basically a pad of paper which is made of canvas similar to the canvas on artists stretched canvases.

I scraped a thick layer of white gesso all over the canvas paper, then while the gesso was still wet I poured on some micro beads. I used a wadded up piece of plastic bag to press the beads into the gesso more so that they would stick better. And left to dry overnight. This is what it looks like at this stage:

texturebg1sm.jpg

Close Up:
texturebg1closeup.jpg

Next I  painted it with red acrylic paint and it has a wonderful pebbly texture.

I have also stamped directly onto the bead background using large foam wall stamps and black acrylic paint. Heres a scan:
1beadbackground.jpg
And here is a close up:
1beadbackgroundcloseer.jpg

Finally heres my atc made with this background:

minibeadatcs.jpg

